## Minutes Douglas-Cherokee Head Start/Early Head Start Policy Council March20, 2025

### Members Present

Casey Brown Sierra Finley

Scharanda Brock Jaimaine McNamara

Tina Patterson Misty Busler
Danielle Smikle Misti Eubanks
Krista Warner Jessicia Walker
Melissa Logan Kelly Ritenour

#### Members Not Present

Molly Scaff Cheyenne Wright
Sheri Arden Emily Galban
Tamra Williamson Patrick Tackett
Jamie Jackson Jessica Burnett

Carla Testerman

## **Employees Present**

Kristie Woolard Aranda Pruitt
Curt Amos Ginny Ritchea
Melody Cantrell Emily Kelley
Arlene Radcliff Jennifer Coopman
Billie Epps Susan Frisbee

#### **Guests Present**

Haley Moore

Douglas-Cherokee Head Start/Early Head Start held a Policy Council Meeting on March 20, 2025, at Shoney's, located at 120 Sharon Dr. Dandridge, TN 37725.

Jessicia Walker, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 10:17 AM and announced that we had a quorum.

Emily Kelley, Assistant Director, provided Literacy Reading with the book, *Penelope's Balloons* by Brooke Bourgeois.

Haley Moore, DCEA Grants Fiscal Manager, presented the DCEA Program Spotlight. She provided information about the Affordable Housing Program. For more information call 423-586-1494.

Kristie announced Misty Busler as the new Policy Council member for Cocke County. Jessicia asked for approval of the new member. Jaimaine McNamara, Jefferson County, made the motion for approval and Scharanda Brock, Blount County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Jessicia asked for the approval of February 6, 2025, Policy Council meeting minutes. The minutes are available to all Policy Council members on the website. Kelly Ritenour, Sevier County, made the motion for approval and Tina Patterson, Jefferson County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Old Business: Grant information presented by the management team and request for approval to submit the grant.

- Budget 2025-2026 -Melody Cantrell
- Community Assessment- Curt Amos
- Written Plans/Program Goals with Update- Emily Kelley
- Selection Criteria/Recruitment Updates -Jennifer Coopman
- Program Options/Slot Allocation- Curt Amos
- Parent/Community Grievance Procedure -Kristie Woolard
- Training Plan- Aranda Pruitt
- Self-Assessment/Program Improvement Plan- Aranda Pruitt

Jessicia asked for approval to submit the grant. Krista Warner, Sevier County, made the motion for approval and Casey Brown, Blount County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Haley Moore brought the Agency Audit report and shared that the results were unqualified opinion-no deficiencies or concerns.

Sierra Finley, Clinch-Powell RC&D Intern, presented Community Spotlight. Sierra provided valuable information about Clinch-Powell Housing Solutions, a home repair program, and AmeriCorps. For more information email Sierra at sierra@clinchpowell.net.

Ginny Ritchea, Human Resources Manager, announced that the Personnel Committee met but did not have a quorum to ratify and approved all hiring decisions. Ginny presented the personnel report to all present Policy Council members. Ginny asked for approval and Jessicia Walker, Hamblen County, made the motion for approval and Scharanda Brock, Blount County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Krista Warner, Treasurer, announced that the Finance Committee met and approved all budget and finance reports. Jessicia asked for a second. Kelly Ritenour, Sevier County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Arlene Radcliff, Education Manager, shared the Early Head Start Child Assessment Outcomes Report for the mid-year.

Billie Epps, Disabilities and Mental Health Manager, provided information and handouts about the Free Appropriate Public Education and parent rights. Billie also shared the kindergarten

transition materials that are provided to each Head Start child going to kindergarten next school year.

Curt Amos, Program Director, presented the Director's Report.

- The report was uploaded to the website.
- The grant is in progress and must be submitted by April 1, 2025.
- Attendance is still low.
- Asking for approval of the COLA if it becomes available.
- Agency is working on the new salary scale.
- Parent complaints, grievance procedures, and staff qualification information were shared.

Kristie asked for approval of the Director's Report and action items. Kelly Ritenour, Sevier County, made the motion for approval and Jessicia Walker, Hamblen County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kristie presented the MVP awards for the classrooms with the most volunteer hours for January.

| • | Blount   | Maryville 4   |
|---|----------|---------------|
| • | Cocke    | Newport 2     |
| • | Grainger | Central Point |

• Hamblen Learning Center 2/Early Head Start 1

Jefferson Cherokee
Monroe Madisonville
Sevier Oak Cluster
Union Maynardville

Jessicia asked for approval to adjourn the meeting. Krista Warner, Sevier County, made the motion for approval and Casey Brown, Blount County, seconded the motion. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 12:34 PM.

| Casey Brown, Secretary |  |
|------------------------|--|

# Douglas-Cherokee Head Start Policy Council Officers and Committee Members 2024-2025

## **Policy Council Officers**

Chairperson: Jessicia Walker
Vice Chair: Molly Scaff
Secretary: Casey Brown
Treasurer: Krista Warner

## **Personnel Committee**

Blount County
Cocke County
Grainger County
Hamblen County (FDFY)

Casey Brown
Jamie Jackson
Misti Eubanks
Emily Galban

Jefferson County Jaimaine McNamara

Monroe County
Sevier County
Union County
Molly Scaff
Danielle Smikle
Cheyenne Wright

## **Finance Committee**

Blount County
Cocke County
Misty Busler
Hamblen County
Patrick Tackett
Hamblen County
Sevier County
Krista Warner

## **Douglas-Cherokee Head Start/Early Head Start**

## **Policy Council Members**

## 2024-2025

## **Blount County**

Casey Brown – Personnel Scharanda Brock – Finance Sheri Arden– Community Rep (5)

## **Cocke County**

Jamie Jackson – Personnel Misty Busler – Finance Tamra Williamson – Community Rep (2)

## **Grainger County**

Misti Eubanks – Personnel Sierra Finley – Community Rep

## **Hamblen County**

Emily Galban **(FDFY)** – Personnel Patrick Tackett - Finance Jessicia Walker – Finance Carla Testerman – Community Rep (2)

## Jefferson County

Jaimaine McNamara – Personnel Tina Patterson – Community Rep (2)

## **Monroe County**

Molly Scaff – Personnel
Jessica Burnett – Community Rep (2)

#### **Sevier County**

Danielle Smikle – Personnel Krista Warner – Finance Kelly Ritenour – Community Rep

## **Union County**

Cheyenne Wright – Personnel Melissa Logan – Community Rep