Minutes Douglas-Cherokee Head Start/Early Head Start Policy Council April 10, 2025

Members Present	
Casey Brown	Tamra Williamson
Scharanda Brock	Carla Testerman
Tina Patterson	Cheyenne Wright
Danielle Smikle	Jessica Burnett
Krista Warner	Jaimaine McNamara
Melissa Logan	Misty Busler
Molly Scaff	Misti Eubanks
Sheri Arden	Jessicia Walker

Members Not Present

Jamie Jackson Emily Galban Kelly Ritenour Patrick Tackett Sierra Finley

Employees Present

Amber Brobeck Melody Cantrell Ginny Ritchea Emily Kelley

Kristie Woolard Curt Amos

Guests Present

Haley Moore Logan Johnson Renee Tabor Megan Barnard

Douglas-Cherokee Head Start/Early Head Start held a Policy Council Meeting on April 10, 2025, at Shoney's, located at 120 Sharon Dr. Dandridge, TN 37725.

Jessicia Walker, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 10:33 AM and announced that we had a quorum.

Emily Kelley, Assistant Director, provided Literacy Reading with the book, *Buffalo Fluffalo* by Bess Kalb.

Jessicia asked for the approval of March 20, 2025, Policy Council meeting minutes. The minutes are available to all Policy Council members on the website. Scharanda Brock, Blount County, made the motion for approval and Molly Scaff, Monroe County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Logan Johnson, DCEA Senior Nutrition Operations Manager, presented the DCEA Program Spotlight. She provided information about Meals on Wheels. For more information call 423-318-6935.

Amber Brobeck, Curriculum & Assessment Manager, presented the Head Start Child Outcomes report.

- Information was based on the February checkpoint assessments.
- Gains were seen in all areas and especially seen in literacy, math, and social emotional areas.

Krista Warner, Treasurer, announced that the Finance Committee met and approved all budget and finance reports. Jessicia asked for a second. Cheyenne Wright, Union County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Casey Brown, Secretary, announced that the Personnel Committee met, ratified, and approved all hiring decisions and approved the Agency Employee Handbook changes. Jessicia asked for a second. Cheyenne Wright, Union County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Jessicia announced the proposed members of the Executive Committee. The committee will meet, as necessary, from May-August to discuss and approve any proposed action items.

- The Policy Council chairperson, vice chairperson, treasurer, and secretary are automatically members of the Executive Committee.
- Casey Brown, Scharanda Brock, Patrick Tackett, and Danielle Smikle were proposed members.

Jessicia asked for approval of the Executive Committee members. Cheyenne Wright, Union County, made the motion for approval and Krista Warner, Sevier County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Curt Amos, Program Director, presented the Director's Report.

- Five Head Start Regional offices closed
- Grant submitted on March 28
- No word on Change in Scope approval
- New Fiscal Specialist in Atlanta
- Two management positions eliminated beginning July 1
- Two receptionist positions eliminated beginning July 1
- Action Items: Approval to submit CACFP application and approval of Director's Report

Jessicia asked for approval of the Director's Report and action items. Molly Scaff, Monroe County, made the motion for approval and Jaimaine McNamara, Jefferson County, seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kristie presented the MVP awards for the classrooms with the most volunteer hours for February.

- Blount Maryville 4
- Cocke Newport 2
- Grainger Bean Station
- Hamblen Learning Center 6/Early Head Start 1

- Jefferson Shady Grove
- Monroe Madisonville
- Sevier Harrisburg
- Union Cross Creek

Jessicia asked for approval to adjourn the meeting. Molly Scaff, Monroe County, made the motion for approval and Cheyenne Wright, Union County, seconded the motion. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 12:07 PM.

Casey Brown, Secretary